JSA and Heartbreak

coffee can’t erase the taste of you from my tongue

I’m rubbing my eyes but

it won’t rid the image of you

from my mind

I’m smoking away

the little bits of you I inhaled

into each lung

we had fun

but it’s done

 

you might’ve been

just a dream

or words on a screen

but you had me

locked in your arms I was

first set free

wrapped in your legs

everything unravelled from

my head

I stopped biting my lips

you took over that instead

my teeth found your hips

in your unmade bed

 

someone told me happiness can be found in the darkest places

well I found mine in yours

your body was a land of perfect spaces

into which I finally tessellated

 

you were beautiful

soft skin like warm sun

I was a fool

you were into gingers

and I was into you

then you slipped from my fingers

and I came undone

 

I was poor but trying to be cool

with contraband kronenburg cans

and losing at pool

you liked my poems so much

that you held my hand

as you picked up the tab

 

you were a lone spike in

an EKG of silence

the subtle sweetness in dark chocolate

the way in which

those tiny little flicks

kicked out from your eyes

and made my heart skip

as my pupils would dilate

to absorb all of your face

 

and then you left

without a trace

 

she got 36 hours a week

no time to waste

and I got left with

JSA and heartbreak

 

Leave a Reply

