Disclaimer [most finished]

I’m not very good at meeting people

I get stuck in my head

and before anything is said

get lost in an existential crisis

 

conversing and the rules thereof

imply a two-sided exchange

of information

between two people

 

two

people

 

one person

 

talking to

 

another

 

person

 

to start with

I’d hate to mislead anyone

into thinking

I’m a real person

 

people

maybe

 

fractured parts

of everyone from my past

 

or like

the universe and all it contradicts

wrapped in skin

every expanding cosmic mess

all caged within my chest

but I digress

 

the universe is too big for

‘the polite conversation about unimportant or uncontroversial matters, especially as engaged in on social occasions.’*

I want to know what keeps you from sleeping

like do you lay awake at night

wondering what the hell is up with life?

do you worry about the future?

are you sure you know who you are?

do you ever feel stuck on the cusp

as you see through the guise of growing up

 

do you ever feel empty inside

wondering if this is being alive?

 

 

do you notice it’s weird that we just say things

abuse words like play things

waste taste in search of ratings

we sit around discussing topical themes

but can we just appreciate please

we’re all made of dying stars

running around this planet of ours

unable to get along

searching for a place to belong

 

confirming reality

through perceived causality

defining by touch

but

even that is always an atom apart

my mind doesn’t stretch that far

as I’m about to burst

it’s something I’d really like to discuss first

 

but

 

basically I don’t know who I am

and somehow I’m here

attempting a verbal version

of me as a person

I’m not even sure exists yet

 

 

*I googled ‘small talk definition’

Leave a Reply

