A Poem for The One at so many Firsts [very nearly finished]

[Been really busy working and editing, but I’ve been meaning to write this one for ages. Also, after the carnage of last weekend it seemed the perfect time to finally get this one down.]

Year seven maths

next to each other, trapped

wielding a compass

to

year eleven English

listening to mp3’s

through wires in sleeves

‘your mum’ and

fighting in the music rooms

for fun

 

next thing

it was getting messy

ending in travesty

as blood gushed out my cavity

and vomit defied gravity

I couldn’t keep up

and

you couldn’t carry me

 

then raves paved the way

to

Boris bikes

and apocalyptic nights

following lines

‘til the end of time

and convinced we were actually gonna die

I gripped the bar sideways

I’m not going to Uni

on Friday

you bopped your shoulders and

threw a smile my way

and we danced away

 

I’d forgotten the comfort of arms

until curled up in sweat-drenched garms

in the corner of a room

gone too far

and all we could do was laugh

 

so much noise

it’s quiet

communicate in mute

subdued silence

too lost to attempt to impress

it’s true and nothing less

sat engrossed

staring at your dress

 

we don’t tend to talk much

but it’s never tense

we sit

in pleasant reticence

I’ve been at my most vulnerable

with you

stripped of all normality

the real-me coming through

I can’t tell you coz there

just ain’t the words

but it’s all love

about to burst

for you the one at so many firsts.

Leave a Reply

