If I could write the way I wish I could

I’d hold a mirror to your beauty

with every nuance

of everything you are.

I’d relight the spark in your eyes

with a furnace of positive prose.

Fix up your broken heart

with sutures of loving words.

I could scribble out your past,

leaving an ellipsis for your future.

Most importantly I’d write myself out of your life,

for our own protection.

 

But my aching heart and all the words in all the world

can ever undo

the unfortunate events that unfolded

between me and you.

 

One thought on “If I could write the way I wish I could

Leave a Reply

